"Just don't eat Wheat."
When you first think Gluten Free or Celiac Disease, that is the thought that comes to mind.
Then you do research and it is so much more than just wheat. As if one could say "just wheat"...
You find pages and pages of lists like this one:
DON’T EAT THIS
Wheat in any form (includes white flour, all-purpose flour, wheat flour, pastry flour, cake flour, bread flour, spelt, emmer, farro, bulgur, durum, einkorn, couscous, wheat berries, farina, graham, kamut, matzo, semolina, wheat starch, triticale) and ingredients made from those items (bread, pasta, pizza dough, cakes, cookies, pies, breadcrumbs, croutons, etc). Soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, and other wheat-based sauces, unless specifically labeled gluten free. Seitan also contains wheat.
Barley this includes the grain itself and products made from barley malt: malt vinegar, barley malt syrup, malted milk, etc.
Beer unless it’s gluten free
Oats oats don’t inherently contain gluten, but are often cross-contaminated. Try certified gluten-free oats if you can tolerate them.
from Laura B. Russell, Notes from a Gluten Free Kitchen
THEN YOU DO MORE RESEARCH...
Modified Food Starch is GLUTEN
Modified starch, also called starch derivatives, are prepared by physically, enzymatically, or chemically treating native starch, thereby changing the properties of the starch. Modified starches are used in practically all starch applications, such as in food products as a thickening agent, stabilizer or emulsifier; in pharmaceuticals as a disintegrant; as binder in coated paper. They are also used in many other applications.
This stuff is in EVERYTHING!!
Did you know wheat is in Wall Paper Paste, yeah...crazy...I know! It can all become very overwhelming. There were days were I wanted to throw every single item in my kitchen away. There were days when I just had to laugh at myself. And there were a few day that I really did just sit down and cry.
Being Gluten Free is more than just wheat. Wheat is more than just Wheat...It is vitamins, shampoo, and wall paper paste. I promise the first month is hard. Adjusting to anything is hard.
- The first month of grocery shopping and weeding through your cabinets is time consuming.
- You may find yourself standing in the aisle at your local grocery store talking to a box of Uncle Ben's Rice.(NOT GF)
- Your husband may tell you that food is more important than him.
- Pinterest may become your best friend.
But, I also promise that it gets better.
Here is what I have learned about the DO NOT EAT LIST....practically every condiment, combined spice, and recipe staple is on the LIST. Pinterest has great recipes---Everything from Ranch Dressing to Cream of Whatever Soup. I actually like cooking, it is the cleaning after that has always been my downfall. It is easier to make what I need than have to read all the tiny print and worry, or to call the 1-800 number. Sometimes calling the 1-800 number will get you coupons :). And lastly being Gluten Free isn't a death sentence. It isn't horrible. It is just different and it takes dedication, time, planning, and patience.
This info is also on Laura B. Russell's website, it really helps to explain how once foods leave their natural or whole state, they can become glutened. I have just discovered her recipes and really look forward to trying a few. Please visit her site for information on her cookbook The Gluten Free Asian Kitchen.
Once a food ventures from its original state, it is suspect. If there’s more than one ingredient listed on a package, read it. It may be perfectly safe, but you’ll need to do your homework before drawing that conclusion. Remember: the more additives, the harder it will be to decipher. Be on guard.
Green tea is gluten free, but flavored teas could contain gluten, possibly in the form of barley malt sweetener.
A roasted turkey is gluten free. Sliced deli turkey could contain gluten as a binder.
Homemade salad dressing, made from olive oil, lemon juice, and fresh herbs is gluten free. Bottled salad dressings may contain gluten as a thickener.
Always check labels on soups and broths, candy, deli items, sauces and condiments, dairy products (ice cream, sour cream, buttermilk…can potentially contain gluten), anything packaged, processed, or “flavored”. Even prescription medications, vitamins, and supplements are at risk. Tags: Being Gluten Free, journal